F
F
© Copyright 2007 - 2020 Peter J. Ponzio
Peter J. Ponzio
google-site-verification: google4160844780d4125b.html
next next
Chapter One, “An Unexpected Party,” Part One: https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/the-hobbit-chapter-one-part-one/ Chapter One, “An Unexpected Party,” Part Two: https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/the-hobbit-chapter-one-part-two/ Chapter Two, “Roast Mutton,” : https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/the-hobbit-chapter-two/ Chapter Three, “A Short Rest,” : https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/the-hobbit-chapter-three-a-short-rest/ Chapter Four, “Over Hill and Under Hill,” : https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/the-hobbit-chapter-four-over-hill-and-under-hill/ Chapter Five, Part 1, “Riddles in the Dark,” : https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/the-hobbit-chapter-5-riddles-in-the-dark-part-1/ Chapter Five, Part 2, “Riddles in the Dark,” :https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/the-hobbit-chapter-five-riddles-in-the-dark-part- 2/ Chapter Six, Part 1, “Out of the Frying Pan, Into the Fire,” https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/the-hobbit-chapter-six-out-of-the-frying-pan-into- the-fire-part-one/ Chapter Six, Part 2, “Out of the Frying Pan, Into the Fire,” https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/the-hobbit-chapter-six-out-of-the-frying-pan-into- the-fire-part-two/ Chapter 7, Part 1, “Queer Lodgings,” https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/the-hobbit-chapter-7-queer-lodgings-part-1/ Chapter 7, Part 2, “Queer Lodgings,” https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/the-hobbit-chapter-7-queer-lodgings-part-2/ Chapter 7, Part 3, “Queer Lodgings,” https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/the-hobbit-chapter-7-queer-lodgings-part-3/ Chapter 8, Part 1, “Flies and Spiders,” https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/the-hobbit-chapter-8-part-1/ Chapter 8, Part 2, “Flies and Spiders,” https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/the-hobbit-chapter-eight-flies-and-spiders-part-2/ Chapter 8, Part 3, “Flies and Spiders,” https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/the-hobbit-chapter-8-flies-and-spiders-part-3/ Chapter 9, “Barrels out of Bond,” https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/the-hobbit-chapter-9-barrels-out-of-bond/ Chapter 10, “A Warm Welcome,” https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/the-hobbit-chapter-10-a-warm-welcome/ Chapter 11, “On The Doorstep,”https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/the-hobbit-chapter-11-on-the-doorstep/ Chapter 12, Part 1, “Inside Information,” https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/the-hobbit-chapter-12-part-1-inside-information/ Chapter 12, Part 2, “Inside Information,” https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/the-hobbit-chapter-12-inside-information-part-2/ Chapter 13, “Not at Home,” https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/the-hobbit-chapter-13-not-at-home/ Chapter 14, “Fire and Water,” https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/the-hobbit-chapter-14-fire-and-water/ Chapter 15, “The Gathering of the Clouds,” https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/the-hobbit-chapter-15-the-gathering-of-the- clouds/ Chapter 16, “A Thief in the Night,” https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/the-hobbit-chapter-16-a-thief-in-the-night/ Chapter 17, “The Clouds Burst,” https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/the-hobbit-chapter-17-the-clouds-burst/ Chapter 18, “The Return Journey,” https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/the-hobbit-chapter-18-the-return-journey/ Chapter 19, :The Last Stage,” https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/the-hobbit-chapter-19-the-last-stage/ A Discussion of the making of the world and Middle Earth: https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/a-discussion-of-the-making-of-the-world-and- middle-earth/ A Discussion of the Influence of Dante and Milton had on Tolkien: https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/a-discussion-of-the-influence-dante-and-milton- had-on-tolkien/ The Influence of Norse Mythology on Tolkien’s Works: https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/the-influence-of-norse-mythology-on-tolkiens- works/ “Bilbo’s Last Song at the Grey Havens”: https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/bilbos-last-song-at-the-grey-havens-by-jrr- tolkien/ Three Songs and a Poem from The Fellowship of the Ring: https://peterjponzio.podbean.com/e/three-songs-and-a-poem-from-the-fellowship-of- the-ring/
J.R.R. Tolkien began what would become the Hobbit after experiencing the horrors of the First World War. Initially, he began the book as a way to entertain his children, but he soon realized that it appealed to people of all ages as a tale of an unadventurous little person whose courage helped him survive a series of sometimes fearsome adventures. As we face an uncertain time, I hope the example of an unassuming hobbit named Bilbo Baggins can inspire each of us to face the future with courage and humility. In addition to a reading of the Hobbit by J.R.R Tolkien, the podcast will contain discussions about the creation of Middle Earth, the Valar, and the races of Middle Earth.
previous previous
Lothlorien
Podcast